Bruce Ovbiagele, MD, MSc, MAS

Prof and Assoc Dean SFVAHCS
School of Medicine
Email Contact TBA

Dr. Ovbiagele maintains several National Insititutes of Health funded research programs, focused on improving outcomes for those with, or at risk for stroke, including the largest study of stroke in Sub-Saharan Africa, to-date. In 2008, his work was recognized by the American Academy of Neurology with the Michael Pessin Stroke Research Leadership Award.

Dr. Ovbiagele is an elected fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (London), American Academy of Neurology, American Neurological Association, American Heart Association Stroke Council, American Association of Physician Leadership, and European Stroke Organization, as well as an AAMC Council of Deans Fellow. He is also the immediate past chair of the International Stroke Conference, the premier scientific stroke conference in the world, and is a National Spokesperson for the American Stroke Association, interpreting the latest stroke science for medical professionals and the lay public.

Dr. Ovbiagele earned his MD from the University of Lagos, Master of Science in Clinical Research (MSc) from UCLA, Master of Advanced Studies (MAS) from UCSD, MBA from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, and an Executive Certificate in Public Leadership from the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.

"I am confident that Dr. Ovbiagele will provide outstanding guidance and leadership to the clinical, educational and research enterprises at SFVAMC, and I look forward to the excellent work he will accomplish to best position the organization for continued success," Dean King stated in his announcement. "I want to express my appreciation to Dr. Rina Shah, for her support and leadership over the last year, serving as Interim Associate Dean of SFVAHCS. She will continue to guide and manage the operational aspects of this organization, and I am confident that her partnership and extraordinary institutional knowledge will be deeply appreciated by Dr. Ovbiagele."